Peter Bjuhr Composer

Peter Bjuhr Composer

First of Four

2010 April 13

In a week's time the first of totally four concertos for saxophone and chamber orchestra premieres. First up is the soprano saxophone, soloist - Johnny Hedlund. About one and a half year ago Johnny asked me to compose a piece for him. I came up with an idea relating the saxophone both to the oboe, and hence a baroque oboe concerto, and to modern sounds and even jazz. After finishing a first version I thought more about my fondness of the saxophones and the lack of repertoire for the instruments. I came up with the ambitious idea of a project including totally four concertos. In this project I have two main goals: 1. To relate the concertos to different periods in the history of music. The soprano sax concerto was already related to the baroque. I came up with the following distribution of the other three - tenor | classical period, alto | romantic period and bari | 20th century. 2. To apply the same formal scheme for all four concertos. Now the first of four is ready for public display! And the story about the other three continues...

Peter Bjuhr

Peter Bjuhr Composer

Here I publish information of the music I've written. I also blog about my projects and thoughts about music in general.

I am a contemporary classical composer and compose music for classical musicians, but as you can see from my worklist I've also done other things - including live electronics, electroacoustic music (eam) and music for other types of ensembles (e.g. a jazz trio).

My works have been performed globally, including Europe, Asia and North America.

Follow | Contact



Please contact me with any questions or comments!